Skip to main content

Applications Indigenous Youth Leadership Program

Indigenous Youth Leadership Program Logo

The Indigenous Youth Leadership Program (IYLP) offers scholarships and leadership opportunities to young Indigenous Australians, with a focus on Indigenous youth from communities in very remote areas of the country or regional communities.

IYLP is funded by the Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet's Children and Schooling Programme and The Smith Family was selected to be an IYLP Partnership Broker.

The IYLP supports scholarships for Indigenous students to attend approved secondary schools – day and boarding, government and non–government.

In addition to helping Indigenous students achieve their educational aspirations, the IYLP supports the development of a pool of positive role models and future leaders, to inspire other Indigenous students and illustrate the successes that can be achieved through educational attainment.

See below for a full list of the current education providers The Smith Family has partnered with to deliver the IYLP.


2020 Secondary Scholarship Application is now open

The application and all supporting documents must be received by close of business Friday, 31 May 2019.

Applicants are required to complete all sections of the Student Application 2020 and the Applicant Personal Statement 2020.

Please note: documents received after 31 May 2019 will not be accepted and incomplete applications will not be considered for ranking.

A requirement of the application process is that shortlisted applicants attend an interview with their parent or guardian. This interview is to establish whether or not you meet the requirements set out in the program guidelines.

Application form and supporting documents

Student Application 2020 (PDF, 179 KB)

Applicant Personal Statement 2020 (PDF, 68 KB)

Student Reference 2020 (PDF, 114 KB) | Student Reference 2020 (MS Word, 235 KB)

Parent / Guardian Support and Consent 2020 (PDF, 68 KB)Parent / Guardian Support and Consent 2020 (MS Word, 329 KB).

Where to send your application

  • Post to:

    The Smith Family

    Leanne Smith – Manager, Indigenous Youth Leadership Program

    PO Box 10500

    Rundle Mall

    South Australia 5000
  • Email: [email protected]
  • Fax: 08 8223 4421 Please mark "Attention Leanne Smith – Manager, Indigenous Youth Leadership Program".

Who can apply for a Secondary Education Scholarship?

To be eligible for an IYLP scholarship the applicant must be a young Indigenous Australian who has the motivation and high potential to complete Year 12, and be committed to succeeding.

Scholarships are being offered for up to one year and student progress will be reviewed periodically.

IYLP scholarship applicants must also be:

  • willing to attend an approved IYLP Education Partner School / College
  • eligible for ABSTUDY or be able to demonstrate educational disadvantage
  • able to meet the requirements set out in the program guidelines in relation to receipt of other Commonwealth scholarships.



If you have any questions in relation to the IYLP scholarship application process please email [email protected] or telephone 08 8224 1402.


Here are our partners with whom The Smith Family is collaborating with for the Indigenous Youth Leadership Program.

New South Wales

St Joseph's College
1 Mark Street, Hunters Hill NSW 2110

St Scholastica's College
4 Avenue Road, Glebe NSW 2037

St. Gregory’s College
100 Bagdally Road, Gregory Hills NSW 2557

St Ignatius College Riverview
Tambourine Bay Road, Lane Cove NSW 2066

New England Girls School
13 – 83 Uralla Road, Armidale NSW 2350

Northern Territory

Haileybury Rendall School
Lot 1044 Berrimah Road, Berrimah NT 0828

St Philip's College
Schwarz Crescent, Alice Springs NT 0871

St John’s College
54 Salonika Street, The Gardens, Darwin NT 0801

South Australia

Concordia College
24 Winchester Street, Highgate SA 5063

Immanuel College
32 Morphett Road, Novar Gardens SA 5040

Loreto College
316 Portrush Road, Marryatville SA 5068

Pembroke School
342 The Parade, Kensington Park SA 5068

Rostrevor College
Glen Stuart Road, Woodforde SA 5072

Westminster School
1 – 23 Alison Avenue, Marion SA 5043

Prince Alfred College
23 Dequetteville Terrace, Kent Town SA 5067

Sacred Heart College
195 – 235 Brighton Road, Somerton Park SA 5044

Wilderness School
30 Hawkers Road, Medindie SA 5081


St. Patrick’s College
1431 Sturt Street, Ballarat, VIC 3350

The Geelong College
Talbot Street, Newton, VIC 3220

Loreto College Ballarat
1600 Sturt Street, Ballarat, VIC 3350


Share this page